Today’s post is a reprint from Mrs. N.D. Deupree’s “Some Historic Homes of Mississippi,” from Publications of the Mississippi Historical Society, Vol. VI (1902).
Concord, the old residence of the Spanish governors, was situated about three miles east of the city of Natchez in the center of extensive grounds, which were kept in the highest state of cultivation. It was a massive building, constructed of bricks of a peculiar shape and enduring quality; circular flights of stone steps led up to the stately halls. These steps, the elegant mantles, and rich cornices, were hewn from Spanish quarries, and in conjunction with the lofty colonades, long, wide verandas, together with the rich furnishings of the lofty rooms, verify the wealth, the luxury and the taste of the golden age of the country. Built in 1789, this fine old residence was first occupied by Gov. Grand Pre. He was succeeded by the urbane Gayoso who gave the place its name to express the kind feeling existing between the citizens and the government. When Gov. Gayoso succeeded Carondelet as governor-general of Louisiana, Don Esteuban Minor became governor of the Natchez district. He purchased the mansion and lived there until his death in 1815. His family and descendants resided there for many years, making it a center of social refinement and culture.
Stately “Concord” now lies in ruins. In May, 1900, the fire fiend did what time had been unable to accomplish; it leveled the great brick stuccoed walls, forced from their foundation the huge pillars, wrenched the steel railing from the curved stairways, melted the heavy bolts, and tore the marble paving from the entresol. A branch of the Minor family still resides near Natchez at a charming home called Oaklands, which is a part of the original grant made to Don Esteuban Minor by the Spanish government. Oaklands is famous for its avenue of live-oak trees, which stand eighty feet apart, yet the branches meet and form a most beautiful archway.
Publications of the Mississippi Historical Society, Vol. VI (1902), pp. 255-256.
For more about Concord’s demise, see Lost Mississippi: Concord, Natchez (1789-1901)
This post is part of a series taken from Mrs. N.D. Deupree’s “Some Historic Homes of Mississippi,” published in 1903. Want to read others in the series?