MDAH’s Community Heritage Preservation Grant Round Opened

According to the MDAH website:

Legislature Funds Preservation Grant Program

– posted July 01, 2016

Millsaps Hotel, Hazlehurst (1918). Designated January 19, 2013.

Millsaps Hotel, Hazlehurst (1918), received CHPG grant in 2013 and 2015.

MDAH is accepting applications for preservation projects across the state. The 2016 Mississippi legislature has provided funding for another round of the Community Heritage Preservation Grant Program, which helps preserve, restore, rehabilitate, and interpret historic courthouses and schools. In Certified Local Government communities grant funds may also be used for projects involving historic buildings other than courthouses or schools.

“This program has saved more than 250 buildings throughout the state, from ones with national significance to those that are local treasures,” said Aileen de la Torre, CHPG program administrator. “Once again, we are thankful to the Legislature for the opportunity to continue assisting communities to preserve their historic buildings.”

The MDAH Board of Trustees will award the grants at a special meeting in December. Only properties that have been designated Mississippi Landmarks are eligible. County or municipal governments, school districts, and nonprofit organizations granted 501(c)(3) tax-exempt status may submit applications. A cash match of at least 20 percent is required, and grant awards are reimbursed upon the successful completion of the project.

Guidelines and applications may be downloaded from the following link: CHPG Application. The deadline to submit completed applications is September 30. For more information call 601-576-6937.

The sixty-two CLG communities in Mississippi are Aberdeen, Amory, Baldwyn, Biloxi, Booneville, Brandon, Canton, Carrollton, Carthage, Centreville, Claiborne County, Clarksdale, Cleveland, Clinton, Columbia, Columbus, Como, Corinth, Durant, Eupora, Friars Point, Gautier, Greenville, Greenwood, Grenada, Hattiesburg, Hazlehurst, Hernando, Holly Springs, Indianola, Jackson, Kosciusko, Laurel, Leland, Lexington, Louisville, McComb, Meridian, Moss Point, Mound Bayou, Natchez, Newton, Ocean Springs, Oxford, Pascagoula, Philadelphia, Port Gibson, Quitman, Raymond, Ripley, Sardis, Senatobia, Sharkey County, Starkville, Tunica, Tupelo, Vicksburg, West, West Point, Winona, Woodville, Yazoo City.

For previous CHPG awards, see . . .

Categories: Grants, MDAH


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: