Community Heritage Preservation Grants 2015

From the MDAH website:

More than $3M in Preservation Grants Awarded – posted December 04, 2015

At a special meeting on December 4 the Board of Trustees of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History awarded more than $3 million on behalf of the Community Heritage Preservation Grant program to twenty-two preservation and restoration projects from across the state. The Community Heritage Preservation Grant program, authorized and funded through the Mississippi Legislature, helps preserve and restore historic courthouses and schools and, in Certified Local Government communities, other historic properties. Over the life of the program the department has awarded more than $35 million to 225 projects.

“The Legislature has saved hundreds of significant Mississippi properties through this program,” said MDAH director Katie Blount. “The Department of Archives and History is grateful for the Legislature’s support and pleased to be able to help preserve these local treasures.”

The grant awards are as follows:

<a href="">Auburn</a> (1812, Levi Weeks), Natchez

Auburn (1812, Levi Weeks), Natchez

Auburn House, Natchez, Adams County$103,455. For repair of balconies, columns, gutter system, re-glazing of windows, and new paint.

Magnolia Hall, Natchez, Adams County—$209,707. For restoration of exterior millwork, masonry, stucco, and plaster.

Mary Ricks Thornton Cultural Center, Kosciusko, Attala County$26,400. For construction of new ADA-compliant restroom and exterior and interior ramps.

Bolivar County Courthouse, Cleveland, Bolivar County$128,000. For restoration of the terracotta front entrance.

I.T. Montgomery House (1910s), Mound Bayou

I.T. Montgomery House (1910s), Mound Bayou

I.T. Montgomery Home, Mound Bayou, Bolivar County$20,000. For stabilization of the structure.

J.M. Ewing Administration Building, Wesson, Copiah County$100,000. For roof repair and replacement.

Millsaps Hotel, Hazlehurst, Copiah County$110,160. For termite treatment, interior stabilization, and exterior masonry restoration.

Eaton School, Hattiesburg, Forrest County$200,000. For exterior bracing.

South Forrest Attendance Center Auditorium, Brooklyn, Forrest County$217,248. For roof and classroom remediation, and drainage and exterior work.

J.Z. George Elementary School, Jackson, Hinds County—$120,428. For window restoration.

LaPointe-Krebs House, Pascagoula, Jackson County—$150,000. For roof replacement and chimney repair.

Lauderdale County Courthouse, Meridian, Lauderdale County—$94,056. For roof replacement.

Meridian Police Station (1977, Chris Risher), Meridian

Meridian Police Station (1977, Chris Risher), Meridian

Former Meridian Police Station Headquarters, Meridian, Lauderdale County—$300,000. For new roofing system.

Leake County Courthouse, Carthage, Leake County—$160,000. For window restoration.

Elizabeth Cottage, Brookhaven, Lincoln County—$77,720. For restoration of second-floor bedrooms, bathroom, and hallway.

Hugh Craft Cottage, Holly Springs, Marshall County—$61,000. For exterior restoration.

Monroe County Archives and Elections Annex, Aberdeen, Monroe County—$147,549. For site work, roof replacement, and interior rehabilitation.

Marks Rosenwald School 1922), Marks [photo by Ken P

Marks Rosenwald School (1922), Marks [photo by Ken P’Pool, MDAH, 4-22-2014]

Marks Rosenwald School, Marks, Quitman County—$260,000. For reconstruction of the masonry, foundation, and roof frame, and new floors and roof.Senatobia High School, Senatobia, Tate County—$288,500. For restoration of masonry and doors and new roof.

Tunica County Courthouse, Tunica, Tunica County—$67,710. For HVAC system boiler.

Southern Cultural Heritage Foundation, Vicksburg, Warren County—$145,200. For roof replacement.

Oakes African American Cultural Center, Yazoo City, Yazoo County—$125,000. For roof replacement and exterior repairs.

Grant awards are paid on a reimbursable basis upon the successful completion of the entire project or at the time of the completion of pre-established phases of the project. Prior to application all buildings must have been designated Mississippi Landmarks. Only county or municipal governments, school districts, and nonprofit organizations granted Section 501 (c)(3) tax-exempt status by the Internal Revenue Service may submit applications. In reviewing and evaluating the grants, the Board of Trustees of MDAH attempted to balance the geographical distribution of grant awards.

To become a Certified Local Government, a community must adopt a preservation ordinance establishing a preservation commission in accordance with federal and state guidelines. Once the commission has been established, application for CLG status may be made to the National Park Service through the Department of Archives and History. MDAH works closely with local government officials and citizens to help them create and manage a workable local historic preservation program. To learn more about the CLG program, contact Barry White in the Historic Preservation Division of MDAH, 601-576-6940.

Categories: Aberdeen, Brookhaven, Carthage, Churches, Cleveland, Courthouses, Grants, Hattiesburg, Hazlehurst, Holly Springs, Jackson, Jails, Kosciusko, Meridian, Mound Bayou, MS Dept. of Archives and History, Pascagoula, Schools, Senatobia, Vicksburg, Wesson, Yazoo City


1 reply

  1. Looks like a lot of good work going on all over. I need a road trip!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: