A Call for Mississippi’s Best Preservation Projects

The Southeastern Society of Architectural Historians (SESAH) has issued a call for nominations for their “Best of the South” award, with nominations due July 1, 2018. As you may recall, Mississippi has snagged four of these awards in the past:

Seems like it’s time to win another award if you ask me.  SESAH meets in Manhattan, Kansas this year, the first time, I believe, it has met out of the SESAH region.  Maybe some of MHT’s Restoration award nominees will decide to try for this regional honor?

2018 Best of the South: Preserving Southern Architecture Award

The Southeast Chapter of the Society of Architectural Historians (SESAH) seeks nominations for the Best of the South: Preserving Southern Architecture Award(s). These annual awards honor projects that document, preserve, rehabilitate, restore, or educate the public about a historic property – including a building, a structure, or a complex of buildings and/or structures – in an outstanding manner and that demonstrate excellence in research, design, and execution. Projects with a public interpretation component are encouraged, but not required. Projects in the twelve-state SESAH region – Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia – that were completed in 2016 or 2017 are eligible.

Criteria for consideration:

  • Quality of the project documentation, research, education, and/or design plan;
  • Importance of the property type within its particular context (national, regional, state, local);
  • Quality of execution;
  • Anticipated benefits; and
  • Degree to which the project saved a historic property from likely demolition.

Nominations should consist of no more than two pages of project description and be accompanied by illustrations and any other supporting material, including a project budget and timeline. A cover letter should identify the owner of the property, the historic and current use of the property, and the names and contact information of all the major participants of the project (including email addresses).

Email the nomination as a single PDF or as a link to a single PDF posted on Google Drive/Dropbox to the 2018 Best of the South Award committee chairperson, Lydia Mattice Brandt at lbrandt.usc@gmail.com.

Deadline: July 1, 2018.

The 2018 Best of the South Award winner will be announced at the 2018 SESAH Annual Meeting held in Manhattan, Kansas, October 3-6.

For more information, visit www.sesah.org.

View news of previous Mississippi “Best of the South” winners here…

Categories: African American History, Biloxi, Courthouses, Hattiesburg, Historic Preservation, Ocean Springs, Preservation People/Events, Sumner


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: