Time to nominate your Best of the South project!

The Southeastern Chapter of the Society of Architectural Historians (SESAH) has opened its nomination period for its annual Best of the South award for outstanding preservation projects in the South. Mississippi has won four of the annual awards since the Best of the South was established in 2006.  Previous awardees were

What Mississippi project(s) should be nominated this year?

Call for Nominations Best of South Award 2016


Image: Tallahatchie County Courthouse, Mississippi winner of the 2015 Best of the South Award (photo by Landon Clay).

2016 “Best of the South: Preserving Southern Architecture” Award

The Southeast Chapter of the Society of Architectural Historians (SESAH) seeks nominations for the “Best of the South: Preserving Southern Architecture” Award. This annual award honors a project that preserves, rehabilitates, or restores a historic property – including a building, a structure, or a complex of buildings and/or structures – in an outstanding manner and that demonstrates excellence in research, documentation, design, and execution. Projects with a public interpretation component are encouraged, but not required. Projects in the twelve-state SESAH region – Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia – that were completed in 2014 or 2015 are eligible.

Criteria for consideration:

  • Quality of the project documentation, research, and/or design plan;
  • Importance of the property type within its particular context (national, regional, state, local);
  • Quality of execution;
  • Anticipated benefits; and
  • Degree to which the project saved a historic property from likely demolition.

Nominations should consist of no more than two pages of project description and be accompanied by illustrations and any other supporting material, including a project budget and timeline. A cover letter should identify the owner of the property, the historic and current use of the property, and the names and contact information of all the major participants of the project.

Email the nomination as a single PDF or as a link to a single PDF posted on Google Drive/Dropbox to the 2016 “Best of the South” award committee chairperson, Susan W. Knowles at susan.knowles@mtsu.edu.

Deadline: July 1, 2016.

The 2016 “Best of the South” Award winner will be announced at the 2016 SESAH Annual Meeting held in New Orleans, Louisiana, from September 28-October 1.

For more information about the “Best of the South: Preserving Southern Architecture” Award and SESAH, visit www.sesah.org.

Categories: Preservation People/Events


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: